The National Primary Health Care Development Agency (NPHCDA) is a parastatal of Nigeria’s Federal Ministry of Health. Its mandate is to develop national primary health care (PHC) policy and support states and LGAs to implement them.

The NPHCDA’s vision and purpose is to make Nigerians healthy. In pursuance of this aim, the Agency has seven corporate goals. These are:

  • Goal 1: Control preventable diseases
  • Goal 2: Improve access to basic health services
  • Goal 3: Improve quality of care
  • Goal 4: Strengthen institutions
  • Goal 5: Develop a high-performing and empowered health workforce
  • Goal 6: Strengthen partnerships
  • Goal 7: Engage communities

History of the NPHCDA
Between 1986 and 1992, remarkable and innovative progress was made in the development of primary health care, focusing on the Local Government Areas (LGAs). As a result, Nigeria was placed in the front rank of countries to have improved the health and quality of life of its people through primary health care.

Following the recommendation of a high level WHO review team (Decree 29 of 1992), the NPHCDA was established to capitalize on these achievements and sustain federal assistance to the LGAs. It merged with the National Programme on Immunization (NPI) in 2007.

Your health agency
The NPHCDA is your domestic development agency for health. You can read more about our 7 goals and the progress we’re making towards our Millennium Development Goals here.

This section of the website will also serve as a medium for NPHCDA leaders to periodically address the public on topical issues. You can make sure you’re among the first to read new information by using the RSS icon, which will send new content straight to your browser.

You can ask questions via email at [email protected], chat with a site administrator of follow us on Facebook and Twitter.